bread you can believe in

I’m a few years behind, but I finally jumped on the no-knead bread bandwagon.  My first attempt was before I had a Dutch oven, and it yielded a slightly burnt loaf that was used for communion bread.  I am now the proud owner of an Ikea Senior 5 quart casserole dish, and last week I used that to make this beautiful loaf of bread.  It barely lasted 24 hours–we had it toasted with eggs for breakfast, made into grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch, and dipped slices of it into our stew for dinner.  I found that it took much less time to bake than what the recipe said.  I think I baked it for 20-25 minutes with the lid on, and maybe 5-10 minutes with the lid off.  I’m planning to make another loaf this weekend, and maybe this time I’ll try the Cook’s Illustrated version, which is supposed to have more of a tangy taste due to using beer and a little vinegar for part of the liquid.  Thanks for the gift, sisters!  I’m also planning to use it to make my mom’s Gone All Day Stew sometime this week.

5 Comments

Filed under favorite food

5 responses to “bread you can believe in

  1. Martha

    That is one beautiful loaf of bread! Mouthwatering…. I’m glad you are using and enjoying the Senior.

  2. janna

    looks beautiful! i’m glad it worked so well. hurray for ikea.

  3. battlemaiden

    I’m not brave enough yet to re-attempt bread again, but the new, easy recipes give me hope. Since Ryan’s the chef and not really a baker, the bread making falls on me. It sure looks yummy!

  4. I’ve been meaning to make some similar bread for a while now, and seeing that picture may just force me into it. Yum!

  5. Pingback: I just pulled this out of the oven « Mennogourmet

Leave a Reply

