a bun in the oven

Yes, you guessed it.  I’m pregnant.  We are expecting a baby sometime around the end of May.  We are excited and nervous all at once.

Keeping up with my appetite has been somewhat exhausting.  I feel like I have to bring so much food with me everywhere, just to anticipate a hunger attack.  I haven’t really had specific cravings.  I’ve been lucky so far in that my morning sickness wasn’t that bad.  I just had some nausea, bloating and fatigue.  Now that the first trimester is over, I’m feeling better.

Thanksgiving was wonderful.  We ate a big potluck-style meal with our church family here, and took the opportunity to share the good news with them.  I made this stuffing from epicurious which turned out pretty well, though next time I would increase the fresh herbs and maybe cut back a little on the butter.  I also made my Grandma Buckwalter’s cranberry jello salad (fresh cranberries ground up in the food processor, mixed with apples, oranges and walnuts, and suspended in raspberry jello).  Both dishes were scraped clean.

The bread-making continues.  I try to make about one loaf a week, and that is usually consumed in 2 days.  It’s so easy, and so good.

Love to you and yours.  And let the Christmas baking begin!

5 Comments

Filed under baby stuff, favorite food

5 responses to “a bun in the oven

  1. Martha

    We had a lovely American Thanksgiving celebration over the weekend. My friend Elise made stuffing with brie and artichoke hearts. She cooked it in a pan, not in the bird, and it was crispy and rich and delicious. I made three dozen cornbread muffins from epicurious and whipped up Alton Brown’s honey butter (butter creamed with honey, cinnamon, and vanilla, then chilled solid) to eat with them. The butter was excellent on the cornbread and I only had two muffins left at the end of the night.

    To say I’m ecstatic about your pregnancy would be an understatement. I can’t wait to be an aunt!

  2. battlemaiden

    Congratulations to you both! How exciting!

  3. Beth

    Congratulations! I’m so happy for you and the future Buckwalter Aunts.

  4. Wonderful! I remember being pregnant with our first child around this time; it made the mystery and wonder of Christ’s birth almost tangible.

    Many congratulations to you and Krestia!
    (And you know, even though your last bread post was great, this baby is the best thing you’ve EVER baked!)

  5. Sharon

    Yeah!!!!

    Congratulations!!! How very exciting!!!!!

    Much love and peace to you both!

Leave a Reply

