post-Christmas musings

I made this Pear and Almond tart for a Christmas tea in early December, and though it looked pretty and it was fun to make something kinda fancy, it took too much time and didn’t taste great. I think I’ll stick with easier, better tasting desserts, like the Upside-Down Pear Gingerbread from Simply in Season that I made for a family Christmas dinner a few weeks later. I served the gingerbread with real whipped cream, which was so delicious. I love that stuff.

I am now 18 weeks pregnant, and the baby is the size of a bell pepper. I get these baby development emails once a week, and the food analogies are always fun. In the past few weeks, the baby has been the size of an avocado (at 16 weeks) and a turnip (17 weeks). It has been hard limiting myself to only one plate of food at holiday feasts. If I go back for seconds or thirds, I find myself with heartburn and indigestion shortly thereafter. So I eat one serving, wait two hours, and eat again!

We joined Glacier Valley Farm CSA! I’m excited to be a part of a CSA that is Alaska-based. In the winter, the veggie boxes have Alaska root vegetables plus organic produce from the lower 48. In the summer, it will be an all-Alaska veggie box. We got our first box December 17th, and it had potatoes, carrots and onions from Alaska, plus pears, pomegranates, collard greens, acorn squash, delicata squash, oranges and celery from the lower 48. Also, the box comes with a little newsletter that includes recipes if you need ideas to use up your vegetables. I made a recipe from the newsletter last week–Indian Diced Potatoes with Greens, based on a Madhur Jaffrey recipe, and it was delicious.

I spent my first Christmas without my family, and it was a bit rough. However, I experienced the joy of Christmas packages. My mom sent some of her caramels and her Chex mix, which are probably my two favorite Christmas treats. I got some fun new kitchen things for Christmas–an immersion blender from Mom, a Wusthof tomato knife from my husband, a panini pan from my mother-in-law, and a Mark Bittman world cookbook from my sister. Look for those in future posts. Happy New Year everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under baby stuff, experiment, fun kitchen stuff

Leave a Reply

