raising a foodie

green bean

I blinked, and suddenly I’m feeding my daughter solid food! (Don’t worry, she just played with this green bean while I was cooking.) I was planning to exclusively breastfeed until she was six months old, but she became so interested in what my husband and I were eating when she was four months old. After talking to her pediatrician, I decided to go for it. It’s a big responsibility, introducing someone to food for the first time! I read this article and this article about feeding babies before I had Miriam, and I totally agree. So far we’ve fed her rice cereal (which I tasted, and I think it tastes like metal), storebought organic applesauce (made me wish for my mom’s homemade stuff!), mashed banana, mashed avocado, homemade pumpkin puree, and fresh mashed pear. Today I tried giving her oatmeal for the first time, and she ate all that I prepared for her, only to spit most of it up again over the next hour or so. It’s not at all an exact science. She seems much more interested in what Krestia and I are eating, and I can’t blame her. Little one, just wait until you eat homemade pizza with whole milk mozzarella, and salad greens from the farmer’s market with chopped pear, crumbled goat cheese, walnuts and cranberries! There is a whole world of delicious food out there, and I can’t wait to introduce you to it.

1 Comment

Filed under baby stuff

One response to “raising a foodie

  1. Good articles – thanks for sharing them! Miriam is a lucky baby, to have parents who make such delicious food.

Leave a Reply

