dinner 3-23-10

One of our favorite quick meals around here–Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burritos, with homemade guacamole and sour cream. I should make homemade salsa too but haven’t done that in awhile (as you can imagine, the tomatoes we get in the grocery stores up here during the winter are pretty sad, and even tomatoes grown here in the summer are not like the ones I remember in NY). I bought some dried chiles last week and wanted to use them in this dish, so I toasted two of them in a cast iron pan, then put them in a bowl and covered them with boiling water and let them soak until soft. Then I pureed them with a little of the soaking water, and added the puree to the sweet potato/onion/garlic/spices/black bean mixture. It was a good addition. The chiles are mild ones (called guajillo) so I think maybe I should have done more than two, or added more crushed red pepper to the sweet potatoes. I also prefer to use black beans I soaked and cooked myself, but decided to just use canned beans this time around.

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner tonight

Leave a Reply

