Miriam, at 3 years and 8 months

dinnertime

 

She is finally, finally getting the hang of potty training. It has been a long journey. This week had two significant breakthroughs. She successfully pooped on the potty at preschool. Then, at home, while eating dinner, she said, “I have to pee!” She got up and went to the bathroom by herself. Usually she refuses to use the potty if she’s in the middle of playing or eating. I was so glad to see her take care of things on her own.

She has an imaginary friend named Marty. I don’t know too much about Marty, but Miriam has been asking to use my phone so she can text her. Miriam also tells me, “Instead of ponytail holders, Marty wears planets in her hair!” (Miriam has a set of little plastic planets that she loves right now.)

When I start to use a firm tone of voice with her, she will say, “Mommy, you’re being rude to me.” She starts to lecture me right back and it’s all I can do to keep from laughing.

She still sucks her thumb (it’s terribly chapped right now, with this cold dry weather) and loves her little stuffed lamb Yames. She still likes to snuggle in the morning and right before bed.

She loves her new black Mary Jane shoes and calls them her dance shoes. She puts them on and does dance performances for us. Yesterday her friend came over to play. Before she got here, Miriam put on her little purple fairy costume (with wings) and asked me, “do you think Maya will think I’m cute?”

She has finally grown out of her 18-24 month clothes and most of her 2T clothes.

She can write her own name and loves to point out letters that she sees everywhere. She has some books memorized. I don’t think she is reading yet but I won’t be surprised if she is an early reader.

She loves to play cards. We play Go Fish and War and sometimes Rummy (though that one’s a bit complicated for her).

She’s really into potty humor. She substitutes “poop” and “pee” for words in her favorite songs, then cracks up laughing. While playing Go Fish she will say, “Mommy, do you have a….poop?” and think it’s the funniest thing.

I have succeeded in getting her to love the movie White Christmas. She asks me to sing her the songs at bedtime. She loves the song and dance numbers.

And…she has interrupted me twice while I’m typing this, first to ask for my help with a puzzle, and now to request that I help her find one of her missing planets. Earlier today she said to me, “Mercury is sad because he can’t find Pluto and Venus!” So, I better go help her.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Miriam, at 3 years and 8 months

  1. Stacy

    Awww…I am glad you took the time to write this. Thank Miriam for her patience in finding the missing planets. I like the little glimpses since we don’t see you often. I hope when Miriam and Avery are a little older they can enjoy all the things they have in common. Although maybe by then, thumb sucking will not be one of them! I don’t think Avery’s thumb has gotten chapped, but it does get all prune-y. I have vague memories of a fun week I spent at your house while my parents were ??? and hope maybe we can do a similar kid swap some day 🙂

    • mennogourmet

      Thanks Stacy! Of course I wrote that potty training was going well and today Miriam has had multiple accidents and keeps refusing to use the potty. Sigh, tomorrow is another day. 🙂 I’m hoping we’ll make the summer reunion but who knows…

  2. Martha

    Archer likes to sit on a toy and say “I pooped a block” or “I pooped a car!” Toddlers and potty humor 🙂

  3. JDT

    Ha ha! …poop. Never gets old.

  4. Forgot to add, her favorite music right now is Neko Case (“Maybe Sparrow”), Greg Brown (“Two Little Feet”) and Gillian Welch (“Six White Horses”). This morning she was wandering around the house singing “my love I am the speed of sound, I left the motherless, fatherless…” (from “This Tornado Loves You” by Neko Case). Yup, we are proud parents.

  5. Stacy

    As you should be; well done! I have been careful not to give Avery too much “kid food” so that she will eat what we eat, but I failed to do so with music! Now all she wants to listen to is The Laurie Berkner Band and songs from Signing Time. Sigh 😦

Leave a Reply

